A habitat is the area in which an organism or group of organisms lives. It includes both the living and non-living components of the environment.  Some common Irish habitats include woodland, rivers, grasslands and bogs.
Some of the most important habitats are protected under legislation.  However, much of the biodiversity, and many of our landscape features of importance, occur outside of protected areas.  Although not in protected areas, these habitats and features are particularly important in contributing to the biodiversity, landscape value and sense of place of the county.  They also have an important role to play as ecological “corridors” or “stepping stones”, as they allow for the movement of plant and animal species between the network of protected sites, and help to sustain the habitats, ecological processes and functions necessary to enhance and maintain biodiversity.  These corridors or stepping stones include: hedgerows, ditches and banks, stone walls, woodlands, estates and parklands, rivers, streams and associated riparian zones, reservoirs, ponds and canals. Such corridors or interconnected networks are the basis of our Green Infrastructure.


Habitat Survey of Kilkenny City

Kilkenny City has a wealth of wildlife species, habitats and green infrastructure – a very important resource for residents and visitors alike. Habitats such as the River Nore, and its tributaries the Breagagh and Pococke, and species such as kingfishers, otters, salmon, meadows, woodlands and marshes all co-exist in our busy medieval city.

Kilkenny County Council, in partnership with the Kilkenny Heritage Forum and the Heritage Council, has surveyed and mapped all of the habitats and green infrastructure in Kilkenny City – the findings have been compiled into the Habitat Survey of Kilkenny City.


Habitat Survey of towns and villages in County Kilkenny

Kilkenny County Council has undertaken habitat surveys and green infrastructure assessments in a number of settlements around the county (Gowran, Fiddown, Piltown, Johnstown, Urlingford, Ballyragget, Ballyhale, Mooncoin, and Knocktopher).